The pros and cons of keeping goldfish…

Posted on Updated on

Goldfish can be a delight to look after, but it’s important to take care of your goldfish or the results could be fatal.
Here are some things to take into account before buying your goldfish.

Pros

● You don’t have to walk them every day
● There is no chance of them getting lost
● They don’t cost much to look after once you have set up a tank
● Their waste wont end up on your brand new white carpet
● They are relaxing to watch
● The 3 second memory myth is not true, in fact it is possible to train them with the R2 fish school pack
● Some breeds can easily live for over ten years
● There are hundreds of types of goldfish to choose from
● They can’t bite
● They are SOOOOOO cute!

Cons

● The tank costs a lot, and it’s not just as simple as squashing them into a bowl, after all, would you like to spend your whole life cramped up in a low oxygon cupbourd?
● It can be hard to determine the sex of your goldfish
● They produce a lot of waste and without a filter, you could find yourself cleaning them out every day!
● They aren’t always healthy when you buy them

Conclusion

Goldfish make great pets but like all animals, they need proper care, but if you can deal with the cons, goldfish could make a great pet for you!

Extra – My Goldfish

I currently keep 2 goldfish. I have fantails and veiltails. I have been keeping goldfish since April 2011 and am really starting to enjoy watching my fish grow up. And yes, I named them! My fantail is names bubbles, and my veiltail, Goldie.
I will be updating my tank later this year as their current tank is way to small.

Leave a comment